The Last Lie (The List, Book #2)

$16.99
Author: Forde, Patricia
Availability: In stock

The Last Lie (The List, Book #2)

In the powerful conclusion to the award-winning List duology, Letta must return from exile to fight for the people of Ark, even if it may cost her everything. Perfect for fans of The GiverThe Last Lie is a dystopian adventure for tweens and teens and an important commentary on censorship, language, and the pursuit of freedom. If babies never hear a single word, they will never learn to speak.

The battle for Ark seems to be over... but it was only the beginning. Letta has taken refuge with the rebels, and spends her days as a teacher, introducing young children words that never should have been lost. It is dangerous work, but Letta knows that being able to express yourself is what makes us human.

But the new ruler of Ark is even crueler than her predecessor, and Letta is horrified to find that they are stealing babies so they can get rid of language once and for all: if babies never hear a single word, they will never learn to speak.

Letta and the other rebels must find a way to defeat the evil for good before they lose the very thing that will set them free.

  • Hardcover, 288 pages
  • 6" x 9"

 

Patricia Forde lives in Galway, in the west of Ireland. She has published five books for children and written for television. In another life, she was a primary school teacher and the artistic director of Galway Arts Festival.

 

0 stars based on 0 reviews